Monday, 25 November 2013

High Hopes for a new Bruce Springsteen album

The rumours are, once again, true and a new album is indeed set to be released before Springsteen and the band return to Australia next February.

As teased last week the album High Hopes was announced today with a full tracklist.

Pre-order sites such as Amazon are already listing details that include a bonus DVD of the band performing the Born In The USA album live in London earlier this year.

For fans of this blog and those who saw the Wrecking Ball tour in Australia this year have good reason to be excited about the new album.

First of all, the excellent High Hopes is present – a brilliant highlight of the Australian-leg of the tour.

Then there’s the frequent addition of Tom Morello, Steve Van Zandt’s stand-in for the 10 down under dates in 2013. This of course includes the incredible Ghost Of Tom Joad that has been crying out for a CD release.

Along with this we also Just Like Fire Would – a cover of The Saints' song performed in Brisbane on the first date of the tour in Australia this year.

Amongst the other songs in the tracklist are the American Skin (41 Shots) already a highlight on Live In New York City release, and Dream Baby Dream, Suicide’s song Springsteen used in a video to thank fans who made it to the Wrecking Ball shows.

The lack of an album full of entirely new songs may disappoint some fans. But with the tracks in High Hopes the album feels like another ‘thank you’ to those who have followed him across the planet in the past few years (and decades). 

Meanwhile if you listen and look close enough you can already pick up on rumours already circulating of two albums being released within 12 months of each other. 

Track list: 

1. High Hopes (Tim Scott McConnell) - featuring Tom Morello
2. Harry's Place - featuring Tom Morello
3. American Skin (41 Shots) - featuring Tom Morello
4. Just Like Fire Would (Chris J. Bailey) - featuring Tom Morello
5. Down In The Hole
6. Heaven's Wall -featuring Tom Morello
7. Frankie Fell In Love
8. This Is Your Sword
9. Hunter Of Invisible Game -featuring Tom Morello
10. The Ghost of Tom Joad - duet with Tom Morello
11. The Wall
12. Dream Baby Dream (Martin Rev and Alan Vega) - featuring Tom Morello

Album due out January 14.